Frankenstein, Pop Culture, and Being Relevant in 2015

Standard

After my last post, “Frankenstein Meets the Avengers,” I thought about it—or re-thought about it.  Then my friend Angelika made her astute comment on my blog and got me thinking further.  Geez, I was about to hand in the outline for my paper, and now I know I have it all wrong, and I have begun again.  Because it occurred to me, exactly why am I seeing parallels to Frankenstein in The Avengers? Can it be because Frankenstein is still relevant in today’s popular culture?

For a few minutes there, I thought I was grasping threads.  I thought I had first seen a connection, but at closer look, had seen there was no connection at all.  And it’s too late to start again…. But now, there it is.

Frankenstein illuminates the difference between darkness and light, between what is truly ugly and what is truly beautiful, and it explores what it means to be a human being.  It is also an examination of free will, and of good and evil.

In past posts, I have discussed what evil might be, and that free will, when exercised against the natural good, results in the free will agent becoming engulfed in a state of evil where the ability to exercise free will afterward is lost.  So, like a man who cannot swim jumping, of his own free will, into the deep end of the pool.  He is engulfed by the water and cannot make any additional choices.  This is what happened to both Victor and his creature.  Victor got in so deep that he could not navigate his way out.  The creature became so overcome that he set out to do what he knew was wrong in order to get revenge.  They both started a cycle of unnatural choices that ended in death and destruction-they both became monsters.  We see this portrayed in pop culture all the time.

More than that, Frankenstein’s creature poses questions—the answers to which are still sought out today in 2015.

  1. The creature searches for his identity as an individual.
  2. The creature wishes to learn what it takes to be a whole person, and grieves that his ugliness and the circumstances of his ‘birth’ seem to make him less of a person.
  3. The creature wants to know where his life came from, and what the purpose is of that life. He also contemplates the finality of death.  He wonders if he has a soul.

In today’s pop culture, the tragic tale of Frankenstein and his Creature is always a story about pain, loss, and vengeance.  It is also a story about one person’s search for his soul, and his desperate need to define himself as a human being. The story also asks ‘what is a monster?’ In our Western society, this search goes on all the time as individuals work out their own lives, define themselves in terms of their own being in the world, and connect with their concept of the divine whether inside or outside of themselves.  Finding our humanity is an aspect of the human condition.  The meaning of life is searching for the meaning of life.  Frankenstein will be in fashion as long as people ponder ‘what makes a person a person?’

2 thoughts on “Frankenstein, Pop Culture, and Being Relevant in 2015

  1. And you just put that picture on the top because “Life, the Universe, and [whatever]” is the tag line of my blog, right?

    As I said in my comment on your last post, now that I’ve seen The Avengers, it’s utterly obvious that it heavily references Frankenstein. You get slapped in the face with it left, right and centre – it’s nearly impossible to NOT see those parallels (in other words, it’s not just you being monomaniac on monsters). In fact, I’d say that “The Age of Ultron” is a direct engagement with the Frankenstein thematic from a 200-years-later viewpoint.

    Even the whole issue of where Ultron comes from in the first place – the arrogance of Tony Stark, figuring he can go it alone – is a parallel to Frankie’s attitudes. Also, thinking about the movie – the more robot-like creature is the evil one, the pretty blue humanoid is the good – again with the question, “What is a human, what is a monster?” And then, did you notice that Vision is most emphatically a *male*? The creature is a HE (as is Frankenstein’s monster). Couldn’t the ultimately powerful creature have been androgynous? What does that say about our views of gender? (I know, I know – you don’t need another rabbit trail to hare off on with your paper. I’m just sayin’.)

    Lost to think on.

    Like

    • Ha!! I didn’t even notice that!! I was looking at it as “the meaning of life is 42” as you well know. Hahaha! So, is that where you got that? How clever!! And I thought I was the one being clever. So funny!

      Okay, right up front–the gender thing is, well, you said a mouthful sister. But that is a whole other paper, I think. So, yes, definitely a rabbit hole I will avoid. But, I think you’re right on the money about the rest, and I think the film should be referenced in my paper in the Frankenstein section. Absolutely. Thanks for posting. Now I am thinking about the Frankenstein parallels with other superheroes. Is this how we have redeemed Frankenstein’s tragic creature? By doing right by him 200 years later? Hmmm, Oh dear, there I go down another rabbit hole…
      hhhh
      eeeeee
      llllllll
      pppppp
      ………………….

      Like

Leave a Reply

